No Picture Yet
Food refusal can take two forms. The first is the refusal of new foods. That is, foods that have not previously been offered to the child. The second is the refusal of foods that were once accepted and eaten without any fuss. Both types of food refusal reflect a basic fear response. This fear response is actually a normal part of a child's development and the majority children go through this phase, which tends to peak around the age of 2 years. Children show this fear by refusing to taste new foods that look 'different'. This might be a food that has a colour, shape, or texture that they are not familiar with. As children become more aware of the sensory properties of foods, they also begin to scrutinise all foods that they are given. They might also begin refusing foods that were previously liked if they do not match with their newly-formed criteria for 'safe' foods. Children may tell you that they don't like the food. They might push the food away on their plates and cry if attempts are made to make them eat just a small bite. If a food is tasted, it may be refused on the basis of its sensory properties. Bitter tastes are often disliked and since many vegetables are bitter tasting these are common foods that children predictably tend to refuse. Visit The Child Feeding Guide to learn how you can deal with this, using our free resources -

Advertised By:   

Price Info:    Free


Opening Times:    

Offer Ends Date:    


County:     Global